Frontiers of Electronic Structure Theory: Correlated Electron Materials

Frontiers of Electronic Structure Theory:
Correlated Electron Materials

Symposium at the 2018 Joint meeting of the DPG and EPS Condensed Matter Divisions
Germany, Berlin, 11 March - 16 March 2018


With more than 5,000 expected participants the DPG Spring Meeting of the Condensed Matter Division is the largest European physics conference (the second largest physics conference worldwide) covering all aspects of condensed matter and chemical physics, materials science, surface science, as well as polymer and biophysics, and more. For a few years now the conference language has been English.

You are invited to attend the DPG Spring Meeting from March 11-16, 2018 in Berlin and in particular the above noted symposium which is organized by:
Matthias Scheffler (Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society (FHI), Berlin), Silke Biermann (École Polytechnique, Palaiseau cedex, France) and Paul R. Kent (Oak Ridge National Laboratory).

The goal of our symposium is to give an overview of recent developments in the field of correlated electron materials. Various strategies of approaching the problem from a combined first principles many-body perspective shall be presented, along with applications to recent materials questions.

This is an official symposium at the DPG spring meeting of the Condensed Matter Section which is this year held together with the EPS. There will be invited talks, contributed talks, and a poster session. We are grateful that the symposium is again hosted by the surface-science division of the DPG. Please note that this hosting does NOT imply that talks need to be restricted to this scientific area. While the invited lectures will have a focus on correlated electron materials, the symposium will cover the general field of computational materials and electronic structure theory.

Invited Speakers at the symposium include:

  • Ali Alavi (Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Gabriel Kotliar (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Katarzyna Pernal (Lodz University of Technology, Poland)

Young computational science researchers are invited to put themselves forward for the Ψk Volker Heine Young Investigator Award 2018. Please find more information here: Ψk Volker Heine Young Investigator Award
Finalists will compete at a special oral session at the DPG Spring Meeting 2018.

Endorsed by:


Page last modified on November 06, 2017, at 11:41 AM EST